A closer look at five regulations

There are 31 states that have at least one of the following abortion regulations: waiting periods, restrictions on health insurance coverage, bans after 20 weeks of pregnancy, requirements that clinics meet ambulatory surgical center standards or requirements that abortion doctors have hospital admitting privileges. Regulations for clinics to meet ambulatory surgical center standards vary by state, and some are more restrictive than others.

There are 25 states, not including Texas, that have at least one of the last two regulations, which were covered in Monday's Supreme Court ruling. That does not include Kansas, which has temporarily enjoined both ambulatory surgical center standards and required hospital privileges, or Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma or Wisconsin, which have temporarily enjoined required hospital privileges.

24 states

require abortion clinics to meet standards similar to those for ambulatory surgical centers

4 states*

require abortion doctors to have admitting privileges at local hospitals

27 states

have waiting periods

10 states

restrict health insurance coverage for abortions

14 states

ban abortion at about 20 weeks postfertilization

Source: Guttmacher Institute. *Note: Kansas and Texas have requirements for abortion clinics to meet ambulatory surgical center standards. These requirements are on hold while they are under review by federal courts. Some states may also have requirements that are temporarily enjoined for other regulations.